Yolanda Chiaramello’s Weblog

Young and Gifted

Posted in Uncategorized by Yolanda Chiaramello on March 14, 2008

9-11yr-old-copy.jpg dancing-10-copy.jpg 9-11yr-old-3-copy.jpg It’s been a while, I have had a few busy months, freelance work has been less erratic and more of a continuous trickle. Jacob, my son has began nursery, a big step for both myself and him. Finally I can embark on a new project, it has to meet certain criteria, locality and feasibility! To fit around, energetic Jacob, now 16 months.  I wanted to work with young kids, and really draw upon the word “gifted”.   At first, I thought this would be a literal translation, that I would stumble upon truly talented individuals, technically talented. However, I have now decided that it would be more realistic and more interesting to use a broader, looser term of the meaning “gifted”. I could pretend I came to this conclusion myself, however, it was my new contact, established choreographer Alex Reynolds, I was lucky enough to gain access to a morning of her creative dance classes for young children 3  to 11 years old, at the Sionbhan Davies Centre in Elephant and Castle. It was here that I appreciated the broader term gifted, by this I mean, that every child in some way is gifted, and it is the way they chose to realise it, is what is important. Perhaps this project will be titled “Young and free spirited”.  I have discovered a couple of interesting story threads, I hope I have the opportunity to realise and share with you my thoughts, creative process, editing.     

Leave a comment